Would I lie to you!?

We are lucky enough to have a large area of Duchy land (including several acres of woodland) adjacent to our school site. So naturally, we like to take advantage of this and use it as a classroom.

We have many games and activities that can be used down there, and we are often creating new ones. Here’s the latest.

I was reading through the social cog and it made reference to leading small teams in competitive situations, making decisions under pressure and negotiation. So I got thinking about a game that would really challenge the pupils in this.

The name of the game is ‘Trust’.

I always start woodland games by:
setting the physical boundaries, time limit and signals for game over (particular use of whistle).

Pupils are in groups of 4.
Nominate 1 leader. They number the remaining members of the group 1,2 and 3.
I call all the number 1’s over to me. I tell them that their aim is to avoid capture from their leader at all costs. I then set them off in a particular area of the woods to hide.
I repeat this with all the 2’s and then the 3’s.
I now have each group evenly spread out around the woods.

I then summoned the leaders and tell them what I told their team mates – to avoid capture – and that the winning team is the first team with all members present back to me.

The leaders objective is to first find a team mate, then negotiate with them and convince them to join them to look for the others, for the good of the team. Decisions on leading the group then have to be made. Stay together? Split up? Where to look? What to say? If they shout out the rules, will that give other pupils an idea of what is going on and help them? How do they get close enough to explain?

I’m looking forward to next lesson, where I may start off playing the same game, but change the rules for the leaders, or double bluff them. Not sure yet.

This game develops a range of qualities on the personal cog, including reacting positively to failure and perseverance.

I was happy to hear how much the boys enjoyed it, and the quality of reflection in the plenary based on the social and personal cogs was very high.

Leave a Reply

